Power Tools Group Tasks

Tasks assigned to Multiple users will normally create independent tasks assigned to all the selected users i.e. 1 Task that all users must action and complete separately.
With Lightside Group Tasks, these tasks can be kept in sync and closed off as 1 task that any of the assigned users can complete.

Create Group Task

  1. Open a record in Salesforce (ensuring that Tasks are enabled on the record) and from the Open Activities related list Click New Task
    Lightside Group Tasks step 1
  2. Click Lookup on the Assigned To field
    Lightside Group Tasks step 2
  3. Click Multiple Users
    Lightside Group Tasks step 3
  4. Select mulitple recipients, click Add then click Done.
    Lightside Group Tasks step 5
  5. Complete the details of the request ensuring that Keep In Sync is checked and click Save
    Lightside Group Tasks step 6
  6. Salesforce will create a Tasks against the record for each selected recipient.
    Lightside Group Tasks step 7

Group Tasks stay in Sync

When group tasks are edited they will stay in sync.
  1. Open the required instance of the Task and click Edit
    Lightside Group Tasks in Sync step 1
  2. Make the required changes to the the Task
    Lightside Group Tasks in Sync step 2
  3. Click Save
    Lightside Group Tasks in Sync step 3
  4. On update of the Task, all other Sync'd Task are also updated.
    Lightside Group Tasks in Sync step 4
    Lightside Group Tasks in Sync step 5

Close a Group Task

  1. Open and Edit and existing Group Task.
    Lightside Group Tasks step 2
  2. Change the Status of the Task to Closed, if all instances of this Task should be closed ensure Keep in Sync is checked.
    Lightside Group Tasks step 3
  3. Click Save. If required click the Related To link to return to the Related record.
    Lightside Group Tasks step 4
  4. On closure of a Task one of two things will happen depending on the setup of the LightsideSettings custom settings.
    1. All Group Tasks will be closed and kept; or
    2. Only the Task actually Closed will be kept, with all other synced tasks deleted.

    For information on how to configure the Group Task settings, please read the 'Configuration Guide'
    Lightside Group Tasks step 5

Deleting a Group Task

When a Sync'd Task is deleted, based on the LightsideSettings custom setting either
  1. Just that Task is deleted; or
  2. All Group Tasks are deleted